loader image
Wednesday, February 21, 2024
66.9 F
We Welcome your Press Release
- Advertisement -

Lyceum names 15 New Directors from across Texas, 2 from the Valley

Translate to Spanish or other 102 languages!

McAllen Erica de la Garza-Lopez, Sr. Territory Business Manger, Mead Johnson Nutrition and from Mission Alejandro “Alex” Meade, CEO, Mission Economic Development Corporation
McAllen Erica de la Garza-Lopez, Sr. Territory Business Manger, Mead Johnson Nutrition and from Mission Alejandro “Alex” Meade, CEO, Mission Economic Development Corporation

Texas Border Business

- Advertisement -

(AUSTIN)  Officials with The Texas Lyceum will swear in Houston Methodist Hospital Executive Vice President Ms. Roberta Levy Schwartz as its President on Friday, January 10, 2014. In addition, 15 new Lyceum Directors have been selected (list below) to join the organization aimed at shaping the next generation of Texas leaders.  State Representative Trent Ashby (Lyceum Class of 2008) will deliver the oath in the Houston Chamber of the Texas State Capitol.

Before joining Houston Methodist Hospital in 2001, Mrs. Schwartz served as Director of Business Development for Mount Sinai School of Medicine and as a consultant and project manager to a number of academic medical centers through APM/Computer Sciences Corporation.  She has a Masters in Health Science from Johns Hopkins University and an honors undergraduate degree from Barnard College at Columbia University.   Roberta cofounded the Young Survivor’s Coalition as a resource for young women with breast cancer.   Roberta has received many honors and awards, including the national Susan G. Komen Foundation’s Jill Ireland Award for Voluntarism, Houston Hadassah “Women of Courage” and Houston’s Top 50 women.

Ms. Schwartz leads The Texas Lyceum into its 34th year with an exciting line-up of conferences addressing Texas’ most important conversations in order to shape its future leadership. The Lyceum’s gatherings are held across the state. The first conference in 2014 begins on January 31 in Houston and is focused on food production, safety and sales.  Later this year, Lyceum members will convene in Fredericksburg for “The Tribalization of Politics”, in McAllen for “Education of the Hispanic Community” and in October at the Lyceum’s 28th public conference in Dallas for “Banking – Too Big to Fail.”  Other 2014 events include the Lyceum’s annual statewide independent poll and its annual leadership scholarships awards to graduating Texas high school seniors.

- Advertisement -

“The Texas Lyceum is poised for a robust year that I am honored to lead. Each year the Texas Lyceum purposefully and agilely equips 96 influential leaders across the state with insights to deeply understand the most important issues facing Texas today and into the future,” said Ms. Schwartz.

The Texas Lyceum also announces Ms. Jane Cummins of Houston, the Founder and Executive Director of The H.E.A.R.T. Program, a non-profit organization dedicated to serving adults with developmental disabilities, will serve as the Texas Lyceum 2014 President-Elect. In addition, The Texas Lyceum has named the following outstanding Texans to serve as Directors in the 2014 incoming class:


Jennifer Ransom Rice, Executive Director, Texas Cultural Trust

- Advertisement -

Jenifer Sarver, Chief of Staff, Burson-Marsteller

Joshua Treviño, Vice President for Communications, Texas Public Policy Foundation

 Dallas /Fort Worth

Ron Davis Jr., Senior Vice President, First Southwest Company

Susan Wells Jenevein, Executive Director, Genesis Women’s Shelter  

Rebekah Kay, Director, Political Affairs, Energy Future Holdings

Sharon Lyle, Co-Founder, Public City

Kirk Pittard, Partner, Kelly, Durham & Pittard


Amanda Edwards, Associate, Bracewell & Giuliani LLP

McAllen resident Erica de la Garza-Lopez, Sr. Territory Business Manger, Mead Johnson Nutrition


Gregory Durbin, President & CEO, Sandia Construction


Erica de la Garza-Lopez, Sr. Territory Business Manger, Mead Johnson Nutrition


Natalie Cobb Koehler, Bosque County Attorney


Laura Roman, Partner-in-Charge Tax and Strategic Business Services, Weaver


Alejandro “Alex” Meade, CEO, Mission Economic Development Corporation


Beth Olson Drew, Executive Director, Texas Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy

About The Texas Lyceum The Texas Lyceum, a non-profit, non-partisan group is the premier statewide leadership organization focused on identifying the next generation of top Texas leaders. The Lyceum consists of 96 men and women from throughout the state who begin their six-year term while under the age of 46, and have demonstrated leadership in their community and profession, together with a deep commitment to Texas. For more information, please visit www.texaslyceum.org. Texas Lyceum is on Facebook at httpss://www.facebook.com/texaslyceum and on Twitter @TexasLyceum https://twitter.com/texaslyceum

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -

More Articles

FDA Approves First Medication to Help Reduce Allergic Reactions to Multiple Foods After Accidental Exposure

Xolair was originally approved in 2003 for the treatment of moderate to severe persistent allergic asthma in certain patients.

South Texas College Launches Advanced Nursing Simulation Technology with Multimillion-Dollar Support

The announcement was made even more significant by the support from VIDA

DHR Health Honors “National Donor Day” With Stained Glass Art Installation, Donor Recognition & Registration Kiosk

Funds for the artwork were raised by DHR Health employees in commemoration of the hospital’s 20th anniversary in 2023

Driscoll Cuts Ribbon to $2.7 Million Training Center in the RGV

The training center will also help staff the soon-to-open Driscoll Children's Hospital Rio Grande Valley, the region’s first designated freestanding children’s hospital.
- Advertisement -