loader image
Thursday, June 8, 2023
89 F
We Welcome your Press Release
- Advertisement -

We are looking for a new dean for the School of Medicine

Translate to Spanish or other 102 languages!


- Advertisement -

Mega Doctor News

By Jennifer L. Berghom 

RIO GRANDE VALLEY, TEXAS – NOV. 22, 2016 – The search for a new dean for The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley School of Medicine is underway. 

- Advertisement -

UTRGV announced today that it has formed a committee of 29 people from the university and the community, and has hired executive search firm Witt Keiffer to help with the search.

The committee’s co-chairmen are Dr. Kenneth Shine, consultant to the president of UTRGV, and Dr. Michael Lehker, dean of the UTRGV College of Health Affairs.

UTRGV President Guy Bailey said he is grateful to the members of the committee who have given their time and talents to finding a new dean for the School of Medicine. 

“I have confidence that they will work together diligently to find the right person to lead our School of Medicine and to continue forging relationships between the School of Medicine and the communities it serves.”

- Advertisement -

Lehker said the search is expected to take about six months, and the final candidates will be introduced to the wider community before a new dean is selected. 

External and community members of the committee are:

·         Dr. Ken Shine, consultant to the president of UTRGV, committee co-chairman.

·         Dr. Amy Shaw Thomas, vice chancellor for Academic and Health Affairs, UT System.

·         Larry Safir, Entravision Communications (retired).

·         Jim E. Darling, mayor of the City of McAllen. 

·         Anne K. Shepard, community representative.

·         Randy K. Whittington, attorney.

·         Nick T.  Serafy Jr., president, Proficiency Testing Service Inc.

·         Eduardo R. Rodriguez, law partner, Atlas Hall Rodriguez.

·         Jennifer C. Garza, CEO, Edinburg Regional Medical Center / Edinburg Children’s Hospital.

·         Doug A. Matney, group vice president, South Texas Health System.

·         Manny M. Vela, president and CEO, Valley Baptist Health System.

·         Dr. Carlos J. Cardenas, chief administrative officer, Doctors Hospital at Renaissance.

·         Cris Rivera, CEO, Rio Grande Regional Hospital.

·         Judy L. Quinsenberry, grants director, Valley Baptist Legacy Foundation.

·         Bonnie Gonzalez, CEO, Knapp Community Care Foundation.

·         Maxine Guerra, community representative.

Committee members from UTRGV are:

·         Dr. Michael Lehker, dean, College of Health Affairs, committee co-chairman.

·         Dr. Sarawathy Nair, chairman, Department of Health and Biomedical Sciences, College of Health Affairs.

·         Dr. Alexander Domijan, dean, College of Engineering and Computer Science.

·         Dr. Frank Ambriz, chairman, Department of Physician Assistant Studies.

·         Dr. Frederic Zaidan, chairman, Department of Biology, College of Sciences.

·         Dr. Sarah Williams-Blangero, director, South Texas Diabetes and Obesity Institute.

·         Dr. Leonel Vela, senior associate dean for Academic Affairs, School of Medicine.

·         Dr. Tony Ogburn, program director, DHR Obstetrics and Gynecology medical residency.

·         Dr. Michelle L. Cordoba Kissee, program director, DHR Internal Medicine medical residency.

·         Dr. Humberto Hidalgo, clinical associate professor, pediatrics.

·         Kathleen Carter, associate university librarian, School of Medicine.

·         Melba Sanchez, associate dean for Finance and Administration, School of Medicine.

·         Rick Anderson, executive vice president for Finance and Administration, UTRGV.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -

More Articles

Fungal Meningitis Outbreak in Matamoros

Additional people with potential exposure who were missing from the original list are being found and contacted through public health investigation, outreach efforts, social media, and by family and friends as they learn about the outbreak.

DHR Health Brownsville Names James W. Castillo, II, MD, As Chief Medical Officer

In his new role, Dr. Castillo will be responsible for leading the practice of medicine, while facilitating an interdisciplinary team approach to the delivery of care.

Creating a Bioartificial Kidney as a Permanent Solution to Kidney Failure

The Kidney Project national research team is being led by Shuvo Roy, PhD, a bioengineer and faculty member in the Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences, Schools of Pharmacy and Medicine, University of California, San Francisco (UCSF). The project is co-directed by William Fissell, MD, at Vanderbilt University Medical Center.

DHR Health To Host the Purple Project 5K, June 25th

Registration is already underway. A free Purple Project 5K t-shirt will be given to those who early register by June 2.
- Advertisement -