McAllen Physicians Start New TMA Leadership Terms

L-R: Dr. Lenore C. DePagter, Dr. Victor H. Gonzalez, and Dr. Laura Faye Gephart.
L-R: Dr. Lenore C. DePagter, Dr. Victor H. Gonzalez, and Dr. Laura Faye Gephart.

Mega Doctor News

Three McAllen physicians began new terms of service in Texas Medical Association (TMA) leadership positions, during the recent TMA Fall Conference held just outside Austin.

TMA leaders appoint or elect TMA member physicians and medical students to one of TMA’s 25 boards, councils, and committees. They are responsible for studying healthcare-related issues and making recommendations on important health care policy affecting Texas patients and their physicians. 

Dr. Lenore C. DePagter, an internist in practice for 17 years, began chairing TMA’s Council on Constitution and Bylaws. The council serves as an advisory body on matters pertaining to the TMA Constitution and Bylaws and handles long-range organizational planning.

Dr. Laura Faye Gephart, an obstetrician-gynecologist in practice for one year, began serving on TMA’s Patient-Physician Advocacy Committee. The committee evaluates the quality of medical care in Texas and recommends regulatory, legislative, and legal approaches to ensure the highest standard of health care is available for all Texas patients. 

Dr. Victor H. Gonzalez, an ophthalmologist in practice for 27 years, began a final term on TMA’s Council on Legislation. The council monitors and develops strategies regarding pending legislation and initiates legislative policies at the state and national levels to improve our health care system. 

All the physicians are members of the Hidalgo-Starr County Medical Society.

- Advertisement -

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing more than 51,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 110 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans.