Dr. Hochman Announces Winners Of Nineteenth Annual Education Grants

- Advertisement -
Dr. Michael A. Hochman, the local retina surgeon and ophthalmologist

Mega Doctor News

Laredo, Texas –– In an effort to enhance the public education of Laredoans, Dr. Michael A. Hochman, the local retina surgeon and ophthalmologist, has endowed monies to fund The Nineteenth Annual Rochelle and Sidney Hochman Educational Support Grant, available for local public-school teachers in both the Laredo Independent School District and the United Independent School District.

The winners for the 2020-2021 School Year, consisting of forty-six teachers from both LISD and UISD are as follows:


Elizabeth Grace De Luna            United South High                               

Annette Gonzalez-Avila               Colonel Santos Elementary                  

Alessandra Ivette Sandoval         Newman Elementary                           

- Advertisement -

Graciela Ramirez-Herndon           Matias de Llano Elementary                 

Maderlin D. Guerra                     United South High                               

Lisa P. Alaniz                             Bonnie Garcia Elementary         

Tatiana Gonzalez, et. al.             San Isidro Elementary                         

Alicia Cristina Solis                     Bonnie Garcia Elementary                   

Sonia Renee Alvarado                Cuellar Elementary                              

Liz Adriana Garcia                      Fasken Elementary                             

Zulema Solis                              Nye Elementary                                  

Erika E. Rojas                            Clark Elementary                                 

Alicia E. Morales                         United High                                         

Jessica Ontiveros                       Los Obispos Middle                   


Mary Esther Perez                      Macdonell Elementary                         

Rosa Gomez                              Lamar Middle                                                

Rodolfo H Salinas                       Lamar Middle                                                

Rebecca Juarez                         Lamar Middle                                                

Jessica Talamantes                    Lamar Middle                                                

Ashley Loa                                 Lamar Middle                                                

Ari Garcia                                   Bruni Elementary                                 

Pilar York/Ricardo Martinez         Leyendecker Elementary           

Selene Trowbridge                      Lamar Middle                                                

Norma Leal                                JC Martin Elementary                                    

Elizabeth Cardenas                    Milton Elementary                               

Lupita Lopez                              Ryan Elementary                                 

Lydia Chaires                             Ryan Elementary                                 

Claudia Pena                             Ryan Elementary                                 

Kamel Shrek                              Nixon High                                          

Gabriela Hernandez                    Sanchez Ochoa Elementary                 

Janie Ramon                              Ryan Elementary                                 

David Ramon                             Nixon High                                          

Leticia Olivarez                          Leyendecker Elementary           

Raquel Gutierrez                        Ryan Elementary                                 

Ramon Herrera                          Cigarroa High                                                

Valeria Valdez                            Santo Niño Elementary                        

Gabriela R. Berlanga                  Martin Elementary                               

Norma Monica Segura                Lamar Middle                                                

Carla S. Sandoval                       Leon Daiches Elementary          

Eira Contreras                            Kawas Elementary                              

Edith Vasquez                            Kawas Elementary                              

Cindy Sanchez                           Kawas Elementary                              

Cynthia J. Mora                          Dovalina Elementary                           

Stephanie Solis                          Lamar Middle                                                

Cristina Reyes Hoffman              Lamar Middle                                                

A total of $10,000 in grants were awarded to Laredo teachers this school year. The endowment is designed to benefit the learning experience of Laredo students by providing teachers with an additional resource for classroom needs essential to the learning process.  Ten thousand dollars has been earmarked for local teachers in both school districts for the current school year.

In the first eighteen years of the charitable grant, approximately 850 teachers were awarded grants in amounts varying from $100-$500, dependent upon individual classroom needs.  The competitive grants are given to support Laredo public school classrooms in the form of supplies, equipment, and other supplementary teaching materials

Dr. Hochman is the medical doctor specializing in diabetic and retinal eye disease and cataract surgery in Laredo. He relocated from Boston to Laredo 22 years ago.  Education has been an essential part of Dr. Hochman’s life, and he welcomes the opportunity to help others. 

According to Dr. Hochman, “I established the grant many years ago because I wanted to help the local public schools. I, myself, was a product of public schooling, which of course played an integral role in my academic, professional, and personal success.  I know that local funding is tight, so I’d like to do my part to help Laredo students get the best education possible.  The children of our community represent our future and helping them receive the quality education they deserve creates a strong foundation for the continued success of Laredo.  Since my mother was a public-school teacher, and my sister teaches as well, the importance of helping children in our community receive a great public education is not lost on me.”

- Advertisement -